My bankruptcy was discharged one to two months following when it was filed. This would have been around September 2005. It still shows the bankruptcy is not discharged on my records, but it has been. How do I get this information updated to correctly reflect my discharge date?
The bankruptcy is reported in the public records section of your credit report. Both the bankruptcy and the accounts included in the bankruptcy should indicate they are discharged once the bankruptcy has been completed.
To verify this, the first step is to get a copy of your personal credit report. You can get a free copy once every 12 months at www.annualcreditreport.com.
How To Update Bankruptcy Information In Your Credit Report
If you've obtained a recent copy of your Experian credit report and found that the bankruptcy discharge information is not yet appearing, you can request that the information be updated.
Your bankruptcy records should include a document, called a "schedule," that lists all of the debts included in the bankruptcy filing. Simply send to the address on your report a copy of the bankruptcy Schedule A, Schedule D or Schedule F that includes a list of debts included in the bankruptcy, and a copy of documentation that the bankruptcy has been discharged, along with a statement explaining that the bankruptcy information should be updated. You can also upload the documentation online.
If necessary, the court also will be contacted and asked to verify that the bankruptcy has been discharged.
You should be aware that the discharge date has no influence on when bankruptcy information is deleted from your credit report.
How Long Does Bankruptcy Show On a Credit Report?
The bankruptcy public record will remain in your credit report for up to 10 years from the filing date. Chapter 13 bankruptcy remains for seven years and Chapter 7 remains 10 years. Accounts included in the bankruptcy will have their status updated to show that they are included in the bankruptcy.
They will be deleted seven years from the original delinquency date of the account. The accounts usually are deleted before the bankruptcy public record because in most cases they are delinquent prior to bankruptcy being filed.
Thanks for asking.
The "Ask Experian" team