I printed my and my husband’s credit reports. There are accounts that have been closed for years, but a note says they will remain on the report for years to come. Why do they remain if they have been inactive for years?
A credit report serves as a record of your account history, so closing an account does not automatically remove it from the report.
Late payments in a closed account will be deleted from the payment history at seven years, but the account may continue to be a part of your history. If the account was closed in a delinquent status, such as charged off, the entire account will be deleted at seven years from the original delinquency date which is the date the account first became late and was not brought current.
A closed account with no negative information in its history will be deleted 10 years from the date it is closed, meaning you will keep your positive credit history longer than most negative information.
Keeping the positive accounts longer works in your favor by retaining the good account information as the negative information is removed.
Thanks for asking.
– The “Ask Experian” team