Credit Advice » Report Advice » Report Details » Closed Accounts » When Are Closed Accounts Deleted

When Are Closed Accounts Deleted

Dear Experian,

Will the closed account ever be removed from my credit report?

– OWE

Dear OWE,

Yes! One of the good things about your credit report is that negative information and closed accounts are deleted so that you can rebuild a damaged credit history.

A closed account with late payments in its history will be deleted seven years from the original delinquency date of the account. The original delinquency date is the date the account first became late without being brought current.

A closed account with no negative information in its history will be deleted 10 years from the date it is closed. It remains in your credit report longer than an account with negative information. Even though the account is closed, the positive payment history will continue to help your scores for as long as it remains. It won’t help as much an open account with current payments, but it is still a positive.

Thanks for asking.
– The “Ask Experian” team

Review Your Free Experian Credit Report Today

Good credit begins with knowing where your credit is today. Get started with your free Experian Credit Report, updated every 30 days on sign in. No credit card required.

Get Started for Free

College Budgeting: What to Know When You Move Out of Your Parents House

Heading off to campus? Prepare now to keep a realistic budget intact that won't have you frustrated before finals.

Ask Experian for Advice

Your privacy and the information collected here.

Latest Tweets