Do you have a question about consumer credit? You may find an immediate answer by using the search engine. If you can't find what you're looking for, please fill out the form, being as specific as possible.
Please note: The Ask Experian team cannot respond to each question individually. However, if your question is of interest to a wide audience of consumers, the Experian team will include it in a future column.
The information contained in this column if for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. You should consult your own attorney or seek specific advice from a legal professional regarding your particular situation.
Please understand that Experian policies change over time. Column responses reflect Experian policy at the time of writing. While maintained for your information, archived responses may not reflect current Experian policy.
Topics addressed on September 15, 2010:
Why accounts in bankruptcy continue to be part of your credit report
Why are the accounts that are under a bankruptcy listed individually? Doesn't the bankruptcy cover that?
When you declare bankruptcy, the bankruptcy public record will be added to your credit report. At the same time, the history of the accounts included in the bankruptcy will continue to be reported. The status of each account included in the bankruptcy will be updated to indicate that it is part of the bankruptcy.
The reason each account should be updated individually is because not every account is always included in a person’s bankruptcy. It is possible to retain an active account that should continue to be updated. Also, any closed accounts not included will continue to be a part of your history until they are purged, typically after 10 years if there is no delinquency. Those accounts can be positive factors as you begin to rebuild your credit.
If the accounts included in bankruptcy were delinquent at the time of filing, they will be deleted seven years from the original delinquency date. The original delinquency date occurred before the bankruptcy, so the accounts will be deleted before the bankruptcy public record.
Bankruptcy public records remain for seven years if you declare Chapter 13 bankruptcy and for 10 years if you declare Chapter 7 bankruptcy. Under Chapter 13 bankruptcy you must repay at least a portion of the debt, so it remains for a shorter time.
Thanks for asking.
- The "Ask Experian" team