Do you have a question about consumer credit? You may find an immediate answer by using the search engine. If you can't find what you're looking for, please fill out the form, being as specific as possible.
Please note: The Ask Experian team cannot respond to each question individually. However, if your question is of interest to a wide audience of consumers, the Experian team will include it in a future column.
The information contained in this column if for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. You should consult your own attorney or seek specific advice from a legal professional regarding your particular situation.
Please understand that Experian policies change over time. Column responses reflect Experian policy at the time of writing. While maintained for your information, archived responses may not reflect current Experian policy.
Topics addressed on January 7, 2009:
Accounts not deleted when bankruptcy is discharged
My bankruptcy was discharged in February, and I was under the assumption that all the accounts would be taken off my credit report. Did I receive the proper information regarding this situation?
I’m afraid you were given bad information. The bankruptcy discharge date has nothing to do with when information will be removed from your credit report.
The bankruptcy public record will remain in your credit report for up to 10 years from the filing date. Chapter 13 bankruptcy remains for seven years and Chapter 7 remains 10 years.
Accounts included in the bankruptcy will have their status updated to show that they are included in the bankruptcy. They will be deleted seven years from the original delinquency date of the account.
The accounts usually are deleted before the bankruptcy public record because in most cases they are delinquent prior to bankruptcy being filed.
Thanks for asking.
- The "Ask Experian" team