Credit Advice

Accounts are not removed immediately after bankruptcy

Have a question?

Do you have a question about consumer credit? You may find an immediate answer by using the search engine. If you can't find what you're looking for, please fill out the form, being as specific as possible.

Please note: The Ask Experian team cannot respond to each question individually. However, if your question is of interest to a wide audience of consumers, the Experian team will include it in a future column.

Our policies
The information contained in this column if for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. You should consult your own attorney or seek specific advice from a legal professional regarding your particular situation.

Please understand that Experian policies change over time. Column responses reflect Experian policy at the time of writing. While maintained for your information, archived responses may not reflect current Experian policy.

Credit Advice

Accounts are not removed immediately after bankruptcy

Dear Experian,

I have completed my chapter 13 bankruptcy plan. How do I have the creditors names removed from my credit report?

- HNS

Dear HNS,

Neither declaring bankruptcy nor completing a bankruptcy plan will cause the accounts included in the bankruptcy to be deleted from your credit report.

When you declare bankruptcy the bankruptcy filing is added to your credit history from the public record, and the status on each of your accounts is updated by your creditors to indicate they are included in the bankruptcy.

If a creditor does not report that status to Experian, you can provide a copy of your bankruptcy Schedule A, which lists all of the accounts included in the filing. Experian can then update the account status for you.

The accounts still will be deleted seven years from the original delinquency dates of the accounts. The original delinquency date is the date the account was first reported delinquent and after which was never again current.

The public record entry of the bankruptcy filing will remain on your credit report either seven years from the filing date for Chapter 13 bankruptcy, or 10 years from the filing date for Chapter 7 bankruptcy.

As a result, the accounts may be deleted before the bankruptcy filing, regardless of the chapter, but they will not be removed immediately.

Thanks for asking.

- The "Ask Experian" team

  • © 2014 Experian Information Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.