I have completed my chapter 13 bankruptcy plan. How do I have the creditors names removed from my credit report?
Neither declaring bankruptcy nor completing a bankruptcy plan will cause the accounts included in the bankruptcy to be deleted from your credit report.
When you declare bankruptcy the bankruptcy filing is added to your credit history from the public record, and the status on each of your accounts is updated by your creditors to indicate they are included in the bankruptcy.
If a creditor does not report that status to Experian, you can provide a copy of your bankruptcy Schedule A, which lists all of the accounts included in the filing. Experian can then update the account status for you.
The accounts still will be deleted seven years from the original delinquency dates of the accounts. The original delinquency date is the date the account was first reported delinquent and after which was never again current.
The public record entry of the bankruptcy filing will remain on your credit report either seven years from the filing date for Chapter 13 bankruptcy, or 10 years from the filing date for Chapter 7 bankruptcy.
As a result, the accounts may be deleted before the bankruptcy filing, regardless of the chapter, but they will not be removed immediately.
Thanks for asking.
- The “Ask Experian” team