May
11
2011

Accounts in bankruptcy are not deleted immediately

Dear Experian,

I just filed bankruptcy and it was discharged in January 2011. I thought that because I filed bankruptcy my bad credit would be taken off my credit report. How come they are all still there but show discharged with Chapter 7?

- JAC

 

Dear JAC,

Accounts included in bankruptcy are not deleted immediately after bankruptcy is filed or discharged. Keep in mind that your credit report is a credit history and so will show the entire history of the account, including being part of a bankruptcy.

Rather than deleting the accounts immediately after filing bankruptcy, they are updated to show that they are included in the bankruptcy. A bankruptcy public record is also added to the credit report. A Chapter 7 filing will remain for 10 years from the filing date and a Chapter 13 will remain for seven.

The individual accounts included in the bankruptcy are deleted seven years from the original delinquency date of the account if it was previously delinquent, which would result in the account being deleted before the bankruptcy public record.

Accounts that were not previously delinquent will remain seven years from the filing date of the bankruptcy for both Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 bankruptcy.

Thanks for asking.

- The “Ask Experian” team

  • ©2014 Experian Information Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.