If I remove my son as an authorized user on my credit card account will the previous activity still be listed on his credit report?
An authorized user has permission to use your account to make charges but has no contractual responsibility to pay the debts. The account will appear on the authorized user’s credit report, helping them establish a positive credit history.
While the person is an authorized user, Experian will report the account as long as it is open and positive. If the account becomes delinquent, Experian will remove the account from the authorized user’s credit report. This is an Experian policy and may not be the case with other credit reporting companies. However, because there is no contractual obligation to pay, the creditor will often remove the authorized user upon request, even when it is in a negative status.
Once removed as an authorized user, the creditor can either have the account deleted completely, or it can retain all of the history up to the point the person is removed as an authorized user and show that they are no longer associated with the account.
Thanks for asking.
- The “Ask Experian” team