Jun
24
2009

When chapter 7 bankruptcy is deleted

Dear Experian,

Does a Chap 7 bankruptcy drop off the report 10 years after filing date or the discharge date?

- DGM

 

Dear DGM,

Bankruptcy public records are deleted based on the filing date. The discharge date has no effect on when the bankruptcy or accounts included in the bankruptcy are deleted.

Chapter 7 bankruptcy is deleted 10 years from the filing date because there is no repayment of any of the debt. Chapter 13 bankruptcy is deleted seven years from the filing date because a portion of the debt is repaid under the discharge plan.

For more information about when negative information is deleted, see the “Common Topics” section on the Ask Max homepage.

Thanks for asking.

- The “Ask Experian” team

  • ©2014 Experian Information Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.