Accounts in bankruptcy deleted before the bankruptcy public record

Dear Experian,

When they say bankruptcy information will be removed from your credit report after seven years, does that mean all of the information related to the bankruptcy will be removed?



Dear NMC,

A chapter 13 bankruptcy court filing will remain on your credit report for seven years from the filing date. That applies only to the public record item, not the accounts included in the bankruptcy.

However, accounts included in the bankruptcy typically are deleted before the public record item. In most instances, accounts included in the bankruptcy are already delinquent before the bankruptcy filing. The original delinquency date of the account is, therefore, earlier than the bankruptcy filing date.

Because accounts are deleted seven years after the original delinquency date, the accounts will likely be deleted prior to the bankruptcy public record. If the accounts included in the bankruptcy were not delinquent when you filed, the accounts will be deleted at the same time as the bankruptcy public record.

Chapter 7 bankruptcy public records remain 10 years from the filing date, and accounts included in chapter 7 bankruptcy that were not delinquent prior to filing remain on the report for seven years from the discharge date of the bankruptcy.

Thanks for asking.

- The “Ask Experian” team

Our policies for Ask Experian:

The information contained in Ask Experian is for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. You should consult your own attorney or seek specific advice from a legal professional regarding your particular situation. Please understand that Experian policies change over time. Posts reflect Experian policy at the time of writing. While maintained for your information, archived posts may not reflect current Experian policy. The Ask Experian team cannot respond to each question individually. However, if your question is of interest to a wide audience of consumers, the Experian team will include it in a future post.