Jan
07
2009

Accounts not deleted when bankruptcy is discharged

Dear Experian,

My bankruptcy was discharged in February, and I was under the assumption that all the accounts would be taken off my credit report. Did I receive the proper information regarding this situation?

- RRI

 

Dear RRI,

I’m afraid you were given bad information. The bankruptcy discharge date has nothing to do with when information will be removed from your credit report.

The bankruptcy public record will remain in your credit report for up to 10 years from the filing date. Chapter 13 bankruptcy remains for seven years and Chapter 7 remains 10 years.

Accounts included in the bankruptcy will have their status updated to show that they are included in the bankruptcy. They will be deleted seven years from the original delinquency date of the account.

The accounts usually are deleted before the bankruptcy public record because in most cases they are delinquent prior to bankruptcy being filed.

Thanks for asking.

- The “Ask Experian” team

Our policies for Ask Experian:

The information contained in Ask Experian is for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. You should consult your own attorney or seek specific advice from a legal professional regarding your particular situation. Please understand that Experian policies change over time. Posts reflect Experian policy at the time of writing. While maintained for your information, archived posts may not reflect current Experian policy. The Ask Experian team cannot respond to each question individually. However, if your question is of interest to a wide audience of consumers, the Experian team will include it in a future post.